Tag: awards evening

Årsta Swans awards night 2017

It is November.
It is wet and just a few degrees outside.
The playing season is long gone and to add to the dread, we ended up last of the four teams in Stockholm.
What do you do to fight the gloom?
You have a bunch of laughs and drinks with good friends, or in other words – the annual Årsta Swans awards night!

We started with a very late AGM. Normaly they are held in the beginning of the season but due to various reasons that did not happen.
This meeting was more of a sum up of the past season and a bit of a prep for the coming one.
Information worth mentioning is that Wilhelm Fischerström stepped down as president after 2 years and handed the precidency over to Chris Murr.
The role as team treasurer, that has been vacant since Julian Huitfeldt moved to Australia, was filled by our newcomer Mark van Meeteren. 

After the meeting our coach Ché Ramiréz took to the stand and started to hand out the awards for 2017.

We winner were as follows:
Goal kicker of the year: Glenn McLeod (Actually Glenn was the lead goalkicker in the whole competition)
Most improved player: Brian Weltz
Coaches award: Bill Chugg
The Hammer award: Wilhelm Fischerström
Club champion: Robert Young

After the award ceremony the group relocated to the Boomerang bar for even more drinks.

Here is a clip from the awards ceremony 

(viewer discretion is adviced; Alcohol , Language, Adult topics)

Årsta Swans awards night & annual poker tournament

On October 22 the Årsta Swans had their annual awards night combined with the annual poker night.
12 of us met up at the Kvarnström recidence in Södertälje for some good food, plenty of drinks and awesome company.
After mingle and dinner the awards part of the evening commenced. Led by coach Robert Young the awards categories were presented and trophees were handed out.
The categories and the winners were as follows:

Leading goal kicker: Chris Murr
Most improved player: Josh Feron
Coaches award: Wilhelm Fischerström
The Peter “Hammer” Hammarström award, for team efforts on and off the field: Patrik Beijer
Club champion (based on votes by peers): Robert Young

After the awards were held the poker games took place. You could tell that everybody had their mind set on winning the tournament, as is was a very cautious group at first.
The bets started to get a bit daring as time went on and after approx. 3 hours we were down to the head-to-head between Glenn McLoud and Fredrik Grinell.
At the end of the night Glenn stod as victor and took home a big wad of cash.
Congrats Glenn!

The 2016 season might be over but the preseason for 2017 is not far away. If you want to have a kick and try footy, contact us here or through our facebook channels.
Before you know it we will be having a ball up at the Skarpnäck oval and a new season will be upon us.

Go Årsta!

SAFF Awards Evening 2011

Best Players 2011

Årsta Swans undoubted star player, Rob Young, took home the prize for Best Australian Player in the SAFF for 2011, polling the most votes over the course of the year. Votes were given after each match by the field umpire and by both team’s coaches and Rob’s outstanding year was rightly recognised by all, both the voters, opposition and team mates alike.

After the 10-round season, Rob had polled 22 votes and secured the Lars Hagberg medal. Truth be told, Rob actually tied for the award with Bromma Viking’s goal-machine, Steve Edwards. Unfortunately Steve couldn’t accept his award in person, as he was lazing by a pool somewhere in Australia sipping pina coladas, or so rumour had it.

Congratulations to Falun’s Henrik Andersson on winning the SAFF’s Best Non-Australian Player in 2011, in only his first season – a truly amazing effort in anyone’s books!

Earlier in the evening

As has been the custom, The Oxen restaurant in Stockholm hosted the SAFF Awards Evening, with some great food and drink and of course, the evening was MC’d by Ryan Kingsley. Each of the five teams’ coaches gave us an insight into the workings of each team; Coach Wiese was first out of the blocks and made the team truly proud.

SAFF All-Star Select

We can’t report on the evening without covering the All-Star Select team for 2011. Årsta had three very worthy representatives – Peter “The General” Hammarström, Mats “The Bulldog” Sundin and Jon “The Terrier” Högman.

Mats and Hammar both had a great 2011 season, continued their fantastic work of the last two years and really took their games to the next level. Jon had an unbelievable first year of Aussie Rules, leaving his opponents running scared with his ferocious attacks on the ball (and sometimes man) and breaking-the-line running. With guys like these tearing the game apart, look out 2012, the Årsta Swans are coming!

Congratulations again to Rob, Mats, Hammar and Jon.